Chapter Three Response

Chapter Three discusses the importance of planning for assessment with the end in mind.  This is something we frequently hear our professors talk about, but this chapter cleared up some of the doubts and worries that I had.  I thought it was interesting to hear how this chapter constantly stressed keeping the students involved.  This chapter for me summed up that when students are involved in what the end goal is, they are more willing to achieve that goal.  I can see how that makes sense; if someone were to give me a task and not explain why that task was beneficial to me, I would be less motivated to complete the task, as opposed to if they explained how I would gain from this in the future.  I am the type of person who doesn’t like being left in the dark, so I can understand how it would be beneficial to everyone in the classroom if they were involved in the long-term goals from the beginning.  One thing I think I will struggle with when doing term-long planning is order and sequence.  I know that we don’t have to teach all the Wellness outcomes in order, so I think I will struggle with what order they should be taught in.  I also wonder if this is something the students can help me out with.  Should I have them involved in the sequence of the learning outcomes, and how they will display their knowledge?  Or is that too much of a stressor trying to have all their opinions involved when the semester has already begun?

Leave a Reply

