Substance Abuse/Addictions

Today I taught my first virtual lesson to Room 209!  I had fun discussing substance abuse and addictions regarding alcohol and tobacco with this group of students.  The students were so attentive, and involved in the lesson, which made me feel more comfortable!  They all had great ideas, and were very eager about discussing these topics.  I was surprised how much previous knowledge they had regarding alcohol and tobacco, and they were so curious to learn more.

Teaching a class over skype had a few challenges.  The first challenge I found was at points there was feedback.  I found it difficult to tell if I was interrupting a student, or if my voice was just echoing.  I hope to find other ways of incorporating technology into my lessons with Room 209, as we further discuss alcohol and tobacco.

Leave a Reply

