Chapter Five/Six Response

Learning about Triangulation is something that was new to me when reading this chapter. Reading this chapter definitely made me more observant during my pre-internship, especially looking at ways I can subtly assess students knowledge.

Observations: I was fortunate enough to work in a wellness class with only 12 girls, so observing them was quite easy. We did quite a bit of partner and group work, so I found it easy to move from group to group and work with the girls on any questions they had. One day we tried speed dating; it wasn’t the most successful activity, but I can the benefits from it. The girls only had so much time together, so they had to get through that question and be ready to move one. I also found that speed dating in pairs could be worthwhile as the quiet girls had someone else to work with, and different ideas were discussed for the same question.

Creating Products: throughout my pre-internship, I think I collected a fair amount of assignments from the class. One thing I thought of while creating these assignments was creating an element of choice for students to demonstrate their knowledge. As it says in the text, “as teachers become more knowledgeable about the implications of different theories of intelligence, they are expanding the ways students show or represent what they know” (p. 49). I tried to keep that in mind when planning learning products. For one assignment, the students had complete control over how they presented their assignment. However, all but two chose to complete a written assignment.

Conversations about Learning: I think this is a huge part of assessment that is sometimes missed by teachers. During 3-way conferences, I noticed that some teachers talked about the student as if he/she wasn’t sitting right there. However, other teachers spent the majority of the time talking directly to the student about how he/she was going to improve his/her grades, and how we as teachers and parents could help. In the end, I felt like we made more progress when the student had a say in what he/she would do to get caught up. Furthermore, I was part of a team meeting about a boy who was blind. The speech pathologist only talked to the student about adaptations, and low and behold, the student had great suggestions about adaptations that could be made to improve his learning. It was so neat! I could tell the student felt so grateful that all 7 adults were there to ask him what he needed as opposed to telling him what he was getting.

Leave a Reply

