Chapter Seven Response

This chapter showed a variety of ways in which assessment can guide our instruction as teachers.  This chapter stresses the importance of having students involved in the learning process, giving them the destination ahead of time, and discussing how what they will be learning will help them with their assessments in the end.

I liked how “Mrs. C” had her students create their own criteria for their research project.  She had them create a list of what they perceived to be as important when completing a research assignment.  I thought this was a neat idea.  I think going in with my own ideas and comparing my ideas to the students would help us find middle ground.  As it shows, Mrs. C add a few of her own ideas of what she hoped to see.  Though we followed a similar process to this in ECS 410, I felt like this book depicts a pretty ideal situation.  As we learned first-hand, creating rubrics isn’t easy.  Maybe we just had a passionate group, but I have to admit I found the process quite exhausting.  Trying to see this happening in a high school classroom is difficult – Will they be engaged?  Will everyone’s voice be heard?  How do we make this rubric clear for everyone?  What if the students aren’t engaged?  What if their ideas of standards don’t match mine?  How much time do I allot for this process?

To be honest, this process scares me.  It seemed to work pretty well for Mrs. C’s class, but I can a lot of troubles that could arise in a real classroom.

As it says in the book, this chapter focuses on involving students in the assessment process.  Though I am hesitant about creating a rubric with my students, I do still think it is important to include students in the process.  To begin, we could discuss ways in which students prefer assessments: tests, presentations, papers, posters, etc.  I think from there, it will help me know how my class works best and then come up with ways in which I can include them further.

Leave a Reply

